Council of School Supervisors & Administrators

local 1: american federation of school administrators, afl-cio

ELI Professional Development Opportunities

Early Childhood Education Workshops
All Sessions are from 8:30 to 11:30.  (Unless the date is followed by an asterisk *)

Leadership Supported Early Literacy
This workshop discusses and engages facilitators and school leaders in activities on how professional learning communities can guide Early Childhood teachers, students and parents in literacy learning. School leaders need a vision and their staff needs to support the instructional focus of the vision.  Literacy aligned to the Common Core Learning Standards in the early grades will only succeed in a school if the school leaders make it a priority.  School leaders explore how early readers begin the learning process and how leaders guide the way.
 
Friday, September 19, 2014                    Queens ELC
Tuesday, September 23, 2014               CSA Headquarters
Wednesday, September 24, 2014         Brooklyn ELC
Tuesday, September 30, 2014               Bronx ELC
Wednesday, October 1, 2014                 Staten Island ELC
 
Making Parental Involvement-Engagement a Part of School Culture
This workshop explores opportunities to provide quality parental engagement for early childhood programs. In order to support our students emotionally and as well as academically teachers and administrators must work together with the families as partners.   School leaders discuss the Five Pillars of Family Engagement, the Quality Review, and the Citywide Expectations as it applies to the home/school partnership.   This workshop includes activities to help leaders meet the goals for their students. 
 
Tuesday, October 7, 2014                      Brooklyn ELC
Wednesday, October 15, 2014              Bronx ELC
Wednesday, October 29, 2014            Staten Island ELC
Monday, November 3, 2014                   Queens ELC
 
Thinking Beyond the Writing
This workshop provides supervisors with strategies to support teachers to understand how to get children to become successful writers at such an early age. Many children come to pre-k wanting to write. Administrators learn how their teachers can use developmentally appropriate everyday activities to support children to grow as writers. School leaders engage in activities which they can utilize during the required 90 minute professional learning community.
 
Tuesday, December 2, 2014                Bronx ELC
Tuesday, January 6, 2015                    CSA Headquarters
Thursday, January 8, 2015                   Staten Island ELC
Tuesday, January 13, 2015                  Queens ELC
Thursday, January 15, 2015                 Brooklyn ELC
 
Strategic Use of ECERS-R to Raise Standard Expectations and Improve Student Learning
This workshop focuses on school leaders connecting and aligning the ECERS-R tool to the Early Childhood standards domains, Quality Review and CIE.  School leaders explore the subscales and items of ECERS-R and have the opportunity to practice scoring with a few subscales items.  As a result, school leaders see the value of using ECERS-R to assist them in implementing the seven subscales of ECERS-R to assess and measure the quality of their program.  As school leaders our goal is to assure that our schools have quality programs that improve student learning. This workshop leads to next steps to improve the environment of their early childhood program.
 
Tuesday, March 3, 2015                   Staten Island ELC
Tuesday, March 31, 2015                 Bronx ELC
Tuesday, April 28, 2015                    Brooklyn ELC
Tuesday, May 19, 2015                    Queens ELC
Tuesday, May 26, 2015                    CSA Headquarters